Monday, June 25, 2012

Tin House is "Raising the Roof"!

Exciting news from Tin House Books!

Christopher R. Beha is the author of his newest release What Happened to Sophie Wilder. As reviewed by the New York Times Book Review: "What Happened to Sophie Wilder is about many things -- the New York publishing world, the growing pains of post collegiate life, the rigors of Roman Catholicism -- but at its center its a moving meditation on why and for whom we write." Beha also wrote an essay on the idea of the 'new' new atheists in Harper Magazine, titled "Reason for living: the good life without God".

Beha explains that the 'new' new atheists like Rosenburg whom are writers that take on a more philosophical approach to religion as opposed to past writers like Richard Dawkins who focus mostly on the God vs. science aspects of religion. These 'new' new atheists tackle the important questions such as "what is the meaning of life" and "how should I live my life" by eliminating God as a necessity and facing the questions for what they are, if there are no religious boundaries than life can have as many meanings as [you] decide. Click here to listen to Beha's interview with KUOW radio:

In other news: Parsifal by Jim Kruscoe has been chosen for Mediabistro's Los Angeles Book Club and Misfit by Adam Braver was voted Best Cover at BEA and Tin House recently released The Listeners by Leni Zumas!

To check out more, go to

Friday, June 8, 2012

Newest Release from Tin House Books

“Parsifal” will be released on July 14th, the newest addition to author Jim Kruscoe’s collection of novels.  Parsifal is a humble man who sets out on a journey to revisit the place where he was born. On his adventure he meets a range of different people varying from a blind person to an interesting young woman named Misty.

Kruscoe’s other Tin House novels include Toward You, Erased, Girl Factor, and Iceland.

Check him out!

Thursday, June 7, 2012

Akashic Books: Two New Releases

Akashic Books, a beloved Benay client, has released two new titles illustrated by Ricardo Cortes.

The first book which is both illustrated and written by Cortes started as a way to teach children about the history of the cocoa bean. However, after an interesting discovery Cortes decided to change paths and instead uncovers the untold past of the Coca-Cola Company in “The Secret History of Coffee, Coca, and Cola”. While there is potential for controversy between Cortes and the company, he remains unscathed and confident.

In the second book, “Seriously, Just go to Sleep”, Adam Mansbach hopes to bring parents and children togetherthe hassles of night time antics are condemned and put to rest.

“Seriously, Just Go to Sleep brings children in on the joke, helping them understand their own tactics and why their parents just want them to go . . . to sleep.”
--Publishers Weekly

Go check them out!